ATOMIC ENERGY EDUCATION SOCIETY STUDY MATERIAL

CLASS -6 GEOGRAPHY CHAPTER-7

OUR COUNTRY INDIA

MODULE-2

INDIA'S NEIGHBOURS

The nine neighbouring countries of India are – Afghanistan, Bangladesh, Bhutan, China, Maldives, Myanmar, Nepal, Pakistan, and Sri Lanka.

Across the sea to the south, lie our island neighbours—Sri Lanka and Maldives. Sri Lanka is separated from India by the *Palk Strait*.

Length of Land Border: 15,106.7 km

Coastline: 7,516.6 km

POLITICAL AND ADMINISTRATIVE DIVISIONS

India is a vast country. For administrative purposes, the country is divided into 28 States and 9 Union Territories.

States and Capitals of India

S.No	States Name	Capital	Founded on
1	Andhra Pradesh	Hyderabad (Proposed Capital Amaravati)	1 Nov. 1956
2	Arunachal Pradesh	Itanagar	20 Feb. 1987
3	Assam	Dispur	26 Jan. 1950
4	Bihar	Patna	26 Jan. 1950

5	Chhattisgarh	Raipur	1 Nov. 2000
6	Goa	Panaji	30 May. 1987
7	Gujarat	Gandhinagar	1 May. 1960
8	Haryana	Chandigarh	1 Nov. 1966
9	Himachal Pradesh	Shimla	25 Jan. 1971
10	Jharkhand	Ranchi	15 Nov. 2000
11	Karnataka	Bengaluru (formerly Bangalore)	1 Nov. 1956
12	Kerala	Thiruvananthapuram	1 Nov. 1956
13	Madhya Pradesh	Bhopal	1 Nov. 1956
14	Maharashtra	Mumbai	1 May. 1960
15	Manipur	Imphal	21 Jan. 1972
16	Meghalaya	Shillong	21 Jan. 1972
17	Mizoram	Aizawl	20 Feb. 1987
18	Nagaland	Kohima	1 Dec. 1963
19	Odisha	Bhubaneswar	26 Jan. 1950
20	Punjab	Chandigarh	1 Nov. 1956
21	Rajasthan	Jaipur	1 Nov. 1956

22	Sikkim	Gangtok	16 May. 1975
23	Tamil Nadu	Chennai	26 Jan. 1950
24	Telangana	Hyderabad	2 Jun. 2014
25	Tripura	Agartala	21 Jan. 1972
26	Uttar Pradesh	Lucknow	26 Jan. 1950
27	Uttarakhand	Dehradun (Winter) Gairsain (Summer)	9 Nov. 2000
28	West Bengal	Kolkata	1 Nov. 1956

- Union Territories are: Andaman and Nicobar Islands, Chandigarh, Dadra and Nagar Haveli and Daman and Diu, National Capital Territory of Delhi, Jammu and Kashmir, Lakshadweep, Ladakh and Puducherry.
- Rajasthan is the largest state and Goa is the smallest state in terms of area
- Delhi is the national capital. The states have been formed mainly on the basis of languages. The Indian Government works at three different levels.
- India has a unique demography, history and culture, dress, festivals, language etc.